

The Hammer Circle

The Association of British Hammer Throwers Founded 1952



THE PAYNE TROPHY

A magnificent large glass 'jar' engraved with hammer throwers, on a plinth and in it's own lined box.

Presented by Howard Payne in 1981 for the

person adjudged to have made a major contribution to the Hammer event. This is mainly aimed at the non active thrower. A precedent was set almost straight away, 1983, that it would not be awarded just for 'the sake of it'

PRESENTED TO

1980	Dennis Cullum	2002	Paul Dickenson
1981	C T Johnson		& Janet Smith
1982	C T Johnson	2003	Not awarded
1983	Not awarded	2004	Mike Morley
1984	Alan Bertram	2005	Chris Black
1985	Not awarded	2006	Alan Bertram
1986	Chris Black	2007	Ron Bowden
1987	Not awarded	2008	Tony O'Neill
1988	Barry Williams	2009	Diane Smith
1989	Kevin Madden	2010	Chris Melluish
1990	Paul Dickenson	2011	Ian Tempest
1991	Ron Bowden	2012	Malcolm Fenton
1992	Not awarded	2013	Dave Smith
1993	Not awarded	2014	Paul Dickenson
1994	Mike Morley	2015	Jack Kee
1995	David Bayes	2016	Rob Earle
1996	Tony O'Neill	2017	Paul Head
1997	Mike Morley	2018	Paul Dickenson
1998	Not awarded	2019	Brian Walsh
1999	Not awarded	2020	Not Awarded
2000	Mick Jones	2021	Sophie Hitchon
2001	Not awarded	2022	Diane Smith

