

The Hammer Circle

The Association of British Hammer Throwers Founded 1952



THE PAULINE SPICK TROPHY

Pauline Spick was the Warden at Grendon Hall offering the Hammer Circle support in the organisation of its annual reunions from 1981 to her retirement in 1991. Pauline returned to Grendon every year up to 2003 to award an individual trophy to the most improved female thrower.

In 2006, The Hammer Circle provided an annual trophy to be presented at the reunion for the thrower who has made the most improvement, by distance. In accordance with Pauline's wishes, this award was restricted to U17 or U20 throwers. To recognise the high standard of young women's throwing it was agreed at the 2009 AGM that only distances greater than 40m would be considered.

In 2014 the U17 girls hammer weight changed from a 4kg to a 3kg forcing another change the criteria for this award. From 2015 this award will mirror the men's Sedykh Programme and be awarded to the female member who has made the most improvement, by distance, over 50m with the 4kg hammer.



WINNERS

1992 Diane Holden 1993 Anne Gardner 1994 Anne Gardner 1995 Sarah Moore Lyndsey Jones 1996 1997 Rachael Beverley 1998 Vicci Scott 1999 Vicci Scott 2000 Helen Taylor 2001 Shirley Webb Shirley Webb 2002 2003 Sarah Holt 2004 Sarah Holt 2005 Lucy Tattersall Victoria Thomas 2006 2007 Sophie Hitchon

2008	Helen Broadbridge
2009	Megan Thomas
2010	Stephanie Hendy
2011	Abbi Carter
2012	Kayleigh Presswell
2013	Annabelle Palmer
2014	Holly Rodgers
2015	Maggie Okul
2016	Katie Lambert
2017	Anna Purchase
2018	Tara Simpson-Sullivan
2019	Charlotte Williams
2020	Not Awarded
2021	Tara Simpson-Sullivan
2022	Charlotte Payne