

The Hammer Circle

The Association of **British Hammer Throwers** Founded 1952



THE BERTRAM TROPHY

Alan Bertram presented this magnificent trophy to the Hammer Circle on the occasion of the '50th Anniversary of the Hammer Circle' held at Eton in 2002. Alan formed the West London Hammer School in 1977, the first Club of its kind in the UK. During this period he has coached 40 English schools winners, in excess of 40 AAA winners (National Champions) and over 30 Internationals have been produced from within the Hammer School – 10 of these at senior level.

Alan attended the Anniversary Celebrations with newly crowned Commonwealth Champions Lorraine Shaw and Mick Jones, whose exploits in front of thousands of fans in Manchester put hammer throwing firmly back on the map.

The Bertram Trophy is awarded to the thrower who has achieved an

'Outstanding performance at World Level'

<u>WINNERS</u>	
2002	Lorraine Shaw &
	Mick Jones
2003	Shirley Webb
2004	Alex Smith
2005	Alex Smith
2006	Alex Smith
2007	Alex Smith &
	Peter Smith
2008	Sophie Hitchon
2009	Sophie Hitchon
2010	Sophie Hitchon
2011	Louisa James
2012	Alex Smith
2013	Sophie Hitchon
2014	Nick Miller
2015	Sophie Hitchon
2016	Sophie Hitchon
2017	Nick Miller
2018	Jake Norris
2019	Taylor Campbell
2020	Not Awarded
2021	Nick Miller
2022	Nick Miller

