

## The Hammer Circle

The Association of British Hammer Throwers Founded 1952



## THE PARTIZAN TROPHY

This solid bronze statuette of a Yugo-Slav Partizan was presented to the British Amateur Athletic Board by the Partizan Club of Belgrade, during a British tour of the Balkans in 1951. It was presented by the BAAB to the Hammer Circle in June1953, to be awarded annually to the most improved senior hammer thrower in Great Britain. Despite its size of 27"/68cms tall weighing 3 stone/19 kilos the trophy went missing and its whereabouts was unknown for decades. In 2009 the 'Sedykh Programme' was introduced to the collection to recognise the most improved 7.26kg performance over 60m.



In 2018 the trophy was rediscovered and returned to the Hammer Circle where it was prominently displayed at the 66<sup>th</sup> Reunion in Hull. Whilst looking for a special award to recognise our first 80m throwers in 2018 the trophy was replicated by laser crystals into glass blocks to formally acknowledge the historic 80m milestone of Nick Miller 7.26kg and Jake Norris 6kg.

The Partizan replicas are now the Hammer Circle 80m awards and the original will be, where possible, passed to recipients who never had the opportunity to take it home. We continue to fill in the missing names from old Hammer Circle bulletins but in 2018 Paul Dickenson was presented with the original Partizan Trophy for the first time – forty four years after he won it.

WINNERS								
1953	Don W J Anthony 174' 8"	1963	Dave Bayes 180' 21/2"	1975	Chris Black			
1954	Robert S Scott 160' 71/2"	1964	Peter Aston 176' 1"	1976	Chris Black			
1955	Peter C Allday 186' 9"	1965	Bruce Frazer 181' 9"	1977	Jim Whitehead			
1956	Michael J Ellis 187' 11"	1966	Peter Seddon	1978	Sean Egan			
	& Iain S Bain 184' 0"	1967	Barry Williams 189'	1979	Matthew Mileham			
1957	Michael J Ellis 211' 9¾"		& Morris Davies 170'	1980				
1958			A Howard Payne 214'	1981				
1959	Not Awarded	1969	Tony Elvin & Barry Williams	1982				
1960	A Howard Payne 201' 3"	1970	Niall McDonald 198' 7"	1983				
1961	Robert Brown 196' 61/2"	1971	Alan Phipps	1984				
	& Lawrence M Hall 182' 71/2"	1972	Chris Black	1985	Graham Callow			
	*		lan Chipchase		80m Replica Awards			
	& Lawrence M Hall 192' 11/2"	1974	Paul Dickenson	2018	Nick Miller & Jake Norris			







9	953.	953. D.W. J. ANTHONY 174'8"		40	1959. NOT AWARDED	
1	954	R.S.SCOTT.	160 7½		1960, A.H. PAYNE '	201'3"
1	955	P. C. ALLDAY	186' 9"		1961. (R.BROWN L.M.HALL	196'61/2"
-	956	[M.J.ELLIS			(L.M.HALL	182'712"
		(I.S.BAIN			IOGO (D. BAYES	166'2"
1	957	M.J. ELLIS	211' 934"		1962. (D.BAYES	192'11/2"
0	958	R.L. ELLIS.	168′ 2″	0	1963. D.BAYES	180' 21/2"



