

## The Hammer Circle

The Association of British Hammer Throwers Founded 1952



## IAN TEMPEST WEIGHT THROW TROPHY

This trophy was originally presented in 2006 by Ian Tempest for the longest outright weight throw at the reunion. Unfortunately it suffered a mishap in 2014 and lost one of its delicate handles. Ian replaced the award immediately but found it difficult to throw the elegant, slightly damaged trophy away. The other handle was removed and the trophy recycled back into the annual awards to create a ladies equivalent. Although the first ever Hammer Circle weight competition was won by a female in 2005 the younger males now dominate in terms of distance. Its first recipient was in 2014 although a list of the best female results is shown from the very start of the Hammer Circle Weight Throw history.



## **WINNERS**

2005	SEN	Shirley Webb	20lb	20.63m
2006	U17	Hayley Murray	16lb	14.42m
2007	U17	Sophie Hitchon	16lb	17.88m
2008	V40	Janet Smith	20lb	13.20m
2009	U20	Sophie Hitchon	20lb	17.94m
2010	U17	Louisa James	16lb	16.33m
2011	SEN	Sophie Hitchon	20lb	16.41m
2012	U20	Kayleigh Presswell	20lb	13.92m
2013	SEN	Rachel Hunter	20lb	17.99m
2014	U15	Olivia Stevenson	12lb	18.28m
2015	U17	Katie Head	16lb	17.09m
2016	U17	Katie Head	16lb	18.23m
2017	U17	Tara Simpson-Sullivan	16lb	16.84m
2018	U15	Lily Murray	12lb	18.47m
2019	U15	Lily Murray	12lb	18.19m
2020		Not Awarded		
2021	U17	Lily Murray	16lb	18.80m
2022	SEN	Katie Head	20lb	17.57m

