

The Hammer Circle

The Association of British Hammer Throwers Founded 1952



THE FREEBORN CUP

Presented to the Hammer Circle by Vice President J H R Freeborn in 1953 and awarded to the 'senior or junior member with the longest competitive throw of the year'.

This was amended in 1956 to be for seniors only. In 1981 it was altered once more, this time to be awarded to the 'outright longest throw over all age groups'.

With the introduction of new trophies to recognise outstanding performances it was agreed at the 2009 AGM to revert back to the 'longest competitive throw by a senior man' from 2010.







WINNERS of the

FREEBORN CUP

1953	178' 10½"	A R Valentine	1987	74.50m	D Smith
1954	185' 8"	M J Ellis U20	1988	75.00m	D Smith
1955	195' 9"	M J Ellis U20	1989	71.32m	P Head
1956	195' 7"	P C Allday	1990	74.02m	P Head
1957	211' 9¾	M J Ellis	1991	73.64m	P Head
1958	211' 11"	M J Ellis	1992	73.80m	J Byrne
1959		Not awarded	1993	73.44m	P Head
1960	210' 11"	M J Ellis	1994	71.16m	P Head
1961	205' 3"	A H Payne	1995	71.52m	D W Smith
1962	208' 10"	A H Payne	1996	75.10m	D W Smith
1963	207' 4"	A H Payne	1997	73.88m	D W Smith
1964	207' 0½"	A H Payne	1998	73.50m	D W Smith
1965	200' 9"	A H Payne	1999	72.63m	B Beauchamp
1966	207' 4"	A H Payne	2000	71.76m	B Beauchamp
1967	204' 9"	A H Payne	2001	73.30m	D W Smith
1968	214' 2"	A H Payne	2002	69.61m	P Head
1969	223' 3"	A H Payne	2003	72.79m	B Beauchamp
1970	225' 9"	A H Payne	2004	76.52m	A Smith U17 5k
1971	227' 2"	A H Payne	2005	78.32m	A Smith U18 5k
1972	227'9"	B Williams 69.42m		71.70m	& U20 6k
1973	233'9"	B Williams 71.25m	2006	75.02m	P Smith U17 5k
1974	232' 11"	I Chipchase 71.00m	2007	73.06m	A Smith U20 6k
1975	230' 2"	P Dickenson 70.16m	2008	73.19m	P Smith U20 6k
		& C Black 70.16m	2009	76.67m	P Smith U20 6k
1976	243' 2"	C Black 74.12m	2010	72.95m	A Smith
1977	74.24m	C Black	2011	74.62m	A Smith
1978	70.32m	P Dickenson	2012	75.63m	A Smith
1979	71.34m	C Black	2013	74.46m	M Dry
1980	72.48m	P Dickenson	2014	74.63m	M Dry
1981	73.90m	P Head U17 5kg	2015	77.55m	N Miller
1982	75.08m	B Weir	2016	76.93m	N Miller
1983	75.40m	C Black	2017	77.51m	N Miller
1984	74.62m	D Smith	2018	80.26m	N Miller
1985	77.30m	D Smith	2019	78.39m	N Miller
1986	76.60m	D Smith			