

The Hammer Circle

The Association of British Hammer Throwers Founded 1952



THE JOHN RODDA TROPHY

Renamed at the request of John Rodda

THE KRIVONOSOV TROPHY



A photograph of Krivonosov presented by John C. Rodda of the 'Manchester Guardian' in 1956. This followed a visit by Krivonosov and Samotsvetov to the Hammer Circle Reunion at Bisham Abbey, Marlow, Buckinghamshire in September 1952. John Rodda was the only journalist present.

Awarded to the longest 7.26kg competitive throw during the Reunion. John Rodda joined the Guardian (as it became that year) in 1959 and covered every Summer Olympics since 1960. John died in March 2009 after a long illness.

1956 Peter C Allday 1957 Peter Newton 1958 Peter Newton 1959 Not awarded 1960 Michael Ellis 1961 Howard Payne 1962 Howard Payne 1963 Howard Payne 1964 Howard Payne 1965 Howard Payne 1966 Paul Dickenson 1967 Paul Dickenson 1968 Howard Payne 1969 Howard Payne 1970 Howard Payne 1971 Howard Payne 1972 Barry Williams 1973 Barry Williams 1974 Ian Chipchase 1975 1976 Paul Dickenson 1977 Paul Dickenson

Winners 1978 Martin Girvan 1979 Jim R Whitehead 1980 And 1981 Unknown 1982 Malcolm Fenton 1983 David Smith 1984 Paul Head 1985 David Smith 1986 Andrew Tolputt 1987 David Smith 1988 Stephen Pearson 1989 David Smith 1990 Paul Head 1991 Stuart Spratley 1992 Paul Head 1993 David Smith 1994 Paul Head 1995 Paul Head 1996 David W Smith 1997 Heinz Weis 1998 Paul Head 1999 Jain Park 2000 Paul Head

2001 Jain Park 2003 Bill Beauchamp 2004 Bill Beauchamp 2005 Glenn Kerr 2006 Alex Smith 2007 Glenn Kerr 2008 Mark Dry 2009 Andy Frost 2010 Alex Smith 2011 Alex Smith 2012 Alex Smith 2013 Mark Dry 2014 Alex Smith 2015 Callum Brown 2016 Callum Brown 2017 James Bedford 2018 Tom Head 2019 Joe Bloomfield 2020 Not Awarded 2021 Tom Head 2022 Jake Norris