

The Hammer Circle

The Association of British Hammer Throwers Founded 1952



THE J G ELLIS TROPHY

Presented in 1964 by Mrs Ellis in honour of her son's outstanding achievements. **Awarded to the most promising junior member of the Hammer Circle**. The trophy was in the form of a silver tray and bears the name of Mike's father the late J.G. Ellis who was an enthusiastic follower of our sport before illness overtook him.

This trophy, to those who knew him, will be a constant reminder of Mr Ellis Senior and indeed of Mike's prowess with the hammer during his short but illustrious career. We are deeply indebted to Mrs Ellis for this fine trophy and assure her that it will become one of the Circle's most prized possessions.

- 1964 Paul Dickenson 4kg 177' 61/2"
- 1965 Paul Dickenson 194' 8"
- 1966 D Rogers
- 1967 S Douglas
- 1968 Chris Black 202'
- 1969 Ian Chipchase
- 1970 Ian Chipchase
- 1971 Stan Douglas
- 1972 Eric Berry
- 1973 Phillip Scott
- 1974 Phillip Scott
- 1975 Unknown
- 1976 Andy Sparkes
- 1977 Declan Hergarty

This trophy is currently missing and has been replaced by The Second Cullum Cup (The Ellis Trophy)

THE SECOND CULLUM CUP

(THE ELLIS TROPHY)

A beautiful silver chalice mounted on a stem designed to the image of a tree. Presented by the founder on the occasion of the 21st Anniversary of the Hammer Circle. This is the trophy that for all it's life has represented the missing '**Ellis**' trophy. Winners of the 'Second Cullum Cup' (The Ellis Trophy)



- 1978 Declan Hegarty
- 1979 Bob Weir
- 1980 Bob Weir
- 1981 David Smith
- 1982 Mick Jones
- 1983 Paul Head
- 1984 Paul Head
- 1985 Chris Howe
- 1986 Gareth Cook
- 1987 Gareth Cook
- 1988 Gareth Cook
- 1989 Jason Byrne
- 1990 Steve Minnikin & Neil Williams
- 1991 Stuart Spratley
- 1992 Not awarded
- 1993 David W Smith
- 1994 Wayne Clark
- 1995 Mike Floyd
- 1996 Andrew Benn
- 1997 Andrew Griegson
- 1998 Andrew Griegson
- 1999 Nicholas Williams
- 2000 Nicholas Williams

- 2001 Nicholas Williams
- 2002 Matthew Frampton
- 2003 Matthew Frampton
- 2004 Alex Smith
- 2005 Alex Smith
- 2006 Alex Smith
- 2007 James Bedford
- 2008 Peter Smith
- 2009 Peter Smith
- 2010 Andrew Jordon
- 2011 Callum Brown
- 2012 Callum Brown
- 2013 Michael Painter
- 2014 Thomas Head
- 2015 Taylor Campbell
- 2016 Jake Norris
- 2017 Jake Norris
- 2018 Jake Norris
- 2019 Bayley Campbell
- 2020 Shaun Kerry
- 2021 Alex Bernstein
- 2022 Owen Merrett